a new perspective

This is my favorite bowl.  I found it when I cleaned off the top of the amoire in our den this past weekend.  I find it once a year when I remove it from the safest place in the house.  It sits inside an old crate, that is sitting up on it’s end so it becomes a cozy nook to hold my favorite bowl.  This bowl wasn’t handed down to me from a great grandmother or any ancestor.  I believe a scooped it up from a antique shop somewhere, but I don’t remember where.  I don’t remember when either.  I just remember when I find it each year and clean it up from a year’s worth of dust, that I love it.  I love the simplicity of it, the color is a creamy buttery yellow.  It’s color is smooth, subtle and dreamy.  When I pair it up with my galvanize bin, with it’s rough and crusty finish, it’s makes my heart do flip flops. I can’t explain why…

I can’t only tell you that this mix of rust, galvanized gray with rich yummy corrosion and patina paired with this simple piece of pottery, it just makes me swoon.

When this bowl sits up on my armoire all year, I notice it once and awhile.  But when I get it down and look closer at it, I suddenly develop the urge to paint everything this color.  I won’t….but I want to. Funny thing is…I’m not even that found of the color yellow.  But this shade is the bomb.

I think this bowl could be a piece of Bauer Ware.  I’m not sure as it only has USA stamped on the bottom.  That is typically a trademark of McCoy pottery.  So maybe it’s McCoy.  That would probably explain why I’m drawn to it.  I love vintage pottery, dishes and cookie jars.

This year I think that my pretty yellow bowl will be part of the Christmas decor.  I’m leaning toward a more primitive Christmas decor and I imagine this bowl will do well in the mix of burlap, twine, sticks and metal.

Another thought that surfaces when I look at the bowl in this photo…

this bowl is empty;  just like  many bowls, plates, stomachs and hearts will be empty during this holiday season

this bowl helps me remember to…

serve others

Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. ~1Peter 4:10

give to others

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” ~ Luke 6:38

submit to others

Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. ~ Ephesians 5:21 [instruction for Christian households]

and to love others

Finally, all of you, be like-minded, be sympathetic, love one another, be compassionate and humble. ~1 Peter 3:8

wow…all this from one little bowl!

blessings,

3 thoughts on “a new perspective

Leave a comment